Wednesday, June 19, 2024

After 24 Years, Nigeria Wins Caf Player Of The Year…Thanks To Osimhen

It has been 24 years since Nigeria last won the prestigious CAF Footballer of the Year. But in a splendid night in Marrakech, the wait was terminated and Nigeria became the first to make a double – win both the men’s and women’s title at the same time.

Great thanks to the exploits of both Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala who made the country proud.

Owing to the weight of their wins, the awards were made by the CAF president, Dr. Patrice Motsepe.

Both wore green attires as tributes to the national colour of Nigeria. For Osimhen, he became the first to win at both the Young Players level which he achieved in 2015 and now the most prestigious one.

He equalled Oshoala in doing so as the Super Falcons’ star had in 2015 won the women’s edition of the Young Player of the Year award.

For Oshoala, it was a record extending sixth win. Osimhen paid special tributes to Emmanuel Amuneke as the coach who gave him the opportunity to flourish at the youth level in 2015.

He also thanked his role model, Didier Drogba for inspiration.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

For Advert Placements, Email:

Latest Articles