Thursday, April 18, 2024

CAF Awards 2023 : Osimhen Makes  Men’s Player Of The Year Top 10

Victor Osimhen has been named in the final 10-man shortlist for the 2023 CAF Men’s Player of the Year.

CAF reduced the list to 10 from the original 30 released two weeks ago.

Africa’s soccer ruling body announced the contenders for the individual accolade on its X handle on Friday.

Senegal’s Sadio Mane, who won the prestigious award for the first time last year, Mohamed Salah, Achraf Hakimi, Yassine Bounou and Yousef En-Nesyri made the shortlist.

Osimhen’s Napoli teammate, Frank Zambo-Anguissa, Vincent Aboubacar, Riyad Mahrez and Sofyan Amrabat were also included.

Osimhen is overwhelming favourites to win the award following his impressive displays for Napoli in the 2022/23 season.

The Nigeria international scored 26 goals in 32 league outings to help the Partenopei win the Scudetto for the time in over three decades.

The 24-year-old also registered five more goals in the UEFA Champions League.

Osimhen, who is currently recovering from a hamstring injury has scored six goals 10 appearances across all competitions for the Serie A champions this season.

His compatriot Gift Orban failed to make final shortlist for the Young Player of the Year.

The award ceremony will hold in the city of Marrakech, Morocco on December 11.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

For Advert Placements, Email:

Latest Articles