Thursday, April 18, 2024

Edo Election: Asue Ighodalo Wins PDP Primary

Asue Ighodalo has been declared winner of the PDP primary for the September Governorship election as he polled 577 votes to defeat six other aspirants.

Delegates from the National and state headquarters of INEC led by Abubakar Hadiza and state INEC REC, Dr Anugbom Onuoha monitored the exercise held at the lawn tennis court of the Samuel Ogbemudia stadium

Electoral Body Announces Date of Edo, Ondo Polls

The result  of the primary was declared on behalf of the national working committee of the PDP by the Chief returning officer for the primary who is also the governor of  Zamfara State Dauda Lawal flanked by the co chairman and Delta State Governor Sheriff Oborevbori and secretary of the panel Sen. James Manager .

Edo State Deputy Governor Philip Shaibu who won in another factional primary conducted within the vicinity of his office was said to have scored one vote while six votes were voided.

Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki who witnessed the primary alongside his wife Betsy scored the process high.

585 Accredited delegates from the eighteen local government areas participated in the primary.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

For Advert Placements, Email:

Latest Articles