Saturday, February 24, 2024

Egypt’s Ahly Dominate In Shortlists For CAF Awards

Cairo giants Ahly came strongly in all shortlists announced Wednesday by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) for the annual men’s awards.

The CAF awards ceremony is scheduled to be held on 11 December 2023 in Marrakech, Morocco.

According to CAF’s official website, CAF technical experts, African football legends, and selected media representatives from different countries all contributed to selecting the nominees according to their performance in the period between November 2022 and September 2023.

African Champions League holders Ahly will be competing for the Club of the Year award alongside other nine teams.

Ahly’s skipper and goalkeeper Mohamed El-Shennawy was also named among the nominees for the Goalkeeper of the Year award that was introduced by CAF for the first time ever.

Six players of the Cairo giants were also among the nominees for the Interclub Player of the Year award which goes to the best player in the continent.

El-Shennawy will be competing for the prestigious award alongside Hussein El-Shahat, Mahmoud ‘Kahraba’ Abdel-Moneim, Mohamed Abdel-Moneim, Ali Maaloul, and Percy Tau.

Egyptian club Pyramids FC duo Mostafa Fathi and Fiston Mayele are also named in the list for the Interclub award.

The Reds, Ahly, were also represented by four players in the race for the African Player of the Year award, as Mohamed El-Shennawy, Mohamed Abdel-Moneim, Mahmoud ‘Kahraba’ Abdel-Moneim, and Percy Tau were included in the announced 30-man shortlist.

Liverpool star winger and Egypt skipper Mohammed Salah is also among the prominent names competing for the important prize.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

For Advert Placements, Email:

Latest Articles