Sunday, July 21, 2024

INEC chief begins five-year second term today

Affter five years tenure, the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, will on Monday (today) begin a fresh term.

He was reappointed by President Muhammadu Buhari making him the first INEC chairman to have his tenure extended by another five years.

Yakubu will be handing over to himself at a ceremony to be conducted at the Conference Room of INEC in Maitama area of Abuja.

Since the onset of presidential system of government 41 years ago in 1979, Nigeria has had nine chairmen of the electoral umpire under different names, including Federal Electoral Commission popularly known as FEDECO; National Electoral Commission; National Electoral Commission of Nigeria and INEC in succession.

The chairmen were Michael Ani, Victor Ovie-Whiskey, Eme Awa, Humphrey Nwosu, Ephraim Akpata, Abel Guobadia, Maurice Iwu, Attahiru Jega, and Yakubu.

Opinions had however been divided on the reappointment of Yakubu for another five years.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

For Advert Placements, Email:

Latest Articles