Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Nigeria Sets Record In Africa Women’s Player Of The Year Award

Nigeria has now won an impressive 13 Africa Women’s Player of the Year Awards – a record on the continent after Asisat Oshoala added a record sixth to her cabinet.

The Super Falcons forward, who enjoyed fine form at country and club levels this year, guided Nigeria to the Round of 16 at the FIFA Women’s World Cup thanks to her eventual winner against hosts Australia in the group stages.

“Today is Nigeria’s night. This is the first time ever that two Nigerians have been awarded as African Player of the Year in the women and men’s categories. It is massive. I am so happy for Asisat [Oshoala] and Victor [Osimhen], said an excited Mercy Akide, winner of the inaugural edition in 2001.

“Asisat has been exceptional all year round at both country and club level for Barcelona and to see CAF awarding her means so much to us as a country. Nigeria – we are winners so this is a big day for us.”

Four-time winner Perpetua Nkwocha (2004, 2005, 2010 and 2011) from Nigeria added to the praise saying that, “Asisat has always been exceptional and for her to win tonight means a lot to her and us as a country. This will motivate her to continue working hard.”

Nkwocha and Akide, who are considered pioneers in the growth of Women’s Football in Nigeria and on the continent, said that this will further promote the growth of the game back home and across the continent.

Akide won the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations with Nigeria in 1998, 2000 and 2002 while Nkwocha won the continent’s biggest tournament with Akide in 2002 before inspiring the Super Falcons upfront as well in 2004, 2006, 2010 and 2014.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

For Advert Placements, Email: info@ln247.news

Latest Articles