Three Poets Compete For NLNG’s $100,000 Literature Prize

On Friday, the chair of the Advisory Board of the NLNG $100,000 literature prize, Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo, announced the shortlisted poets whose books made the final cut for the coveted award.

The shortlisted books for the 2022 edition of the literature prize are ‘Memory and the Call of Water’ by Su’eddie Vershima Agema, ‘Nomad’ by Romeo Oriogun and ‘Your Crib, My Qibla’ by Saddiq Dzukogi.

The finalists were selected out of a longlist of 11 announced recently by the board.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature, sponsored by Nigeria LNG to promote and reward excellence in writing, rotates yearly amongst four literary categories of prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature.

The 2022 edition of The Nigeria Prize for Literature initially had 287 poets compete for the $100,000 Prize.

The judges will announce the winner and outcome of the 2022 edition of The Nigeria Prize for Literary Criticism on October 14.

Author and professor of Law at Babcock University, Ilishan Remo, Ogun State, Cheluchi Onyemelukwe-Onuobia, won the 2021 prize with her novel, Son of the House.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

For Advert Placements, Email:

Latest Articles