Google will launch its new rules from the first of next month which may cause many to loose data stored on their Gmail, google drive and google photos.
These new rules will ultimately allow the tech giant to delete personal data across its popular platforms without having to ask for permission.
The update, which was first announced in December 2020, will allow the company do some cleaning. Google will be able to free up spaces that have not been visited or used for 24 months as they can assume that the users no longer use the service.
“If you’re inactive for 2 years (24 months) in Gmail, Drive or Photos, we may delete the content in the product(s) in which you’re inactive. If you exceed your storage limit for 2 years, we may delete your content across Gmail, Drive and Photos,” the firm said.
Users are to get plenty enough notifications via emails before personal files are permanently deleted
Also noteworthy, is the fact that the first deleting would most likely not happen until June 2023 as the company will begin counting 24 months from June 2020 when the rules would come into effect.