ln247 logo

NUC Issues Provisional Licenses To 37 New Private Varsities

The National University Commission (NUC) has issued Provisional Licenses To 37 new Private Varsities in Nigeria.

The Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, Andrew David Adejo, while presenting the provisional license to the beneficiary universities in Abuja, stated that the approval brought the number of private universities in Nigeria to 147.

Adejo revealed that the provisional approval given to the universities were aimed at creating room for effective mentoring and qualitative growth within the first three years of operation.

He also disclosed that the new universities would be affiliated to older generation universities for academic and administrative mentoring to be moderated by NUC during the monitoring period.

In his remarks, the Executive Secretary of NUC, Prof. Abubakar Rasheed, said that the Nigerian University system has experienced a rapid expansion over the last two decades from less than 40 in 1996 to 264 presently.

Prof. Rasheed noted that while processing the 37 new universities for licensing, the commission took adequate care to ensure that the currency and relevance of their proposed academic programmes in addressing the challenges of contemporary society were met.

He also disclosed that the NUC developed a code of governance for private universities which is expected to address the identified governance challenges bedeviling many private universities in the country,
warning proprietors against breach of conditions for approval.

Recall that the Federal Executive Council(FEC),presided over by ex-President Muhammadu Buhari, approved the establishment of 37 more private universities on May 15 2023.

The new private universities are Rayhaan University, Kebbi; Muhammad Kamalud University Kwara; Sam Maris University, Ondo; Aletheia University, Ago-Iwpye Ogun State; and Lux Mundi University Umuahia, Abia State.

Others are Maduka University, Ekwegbe, Enugu State; PeaceLand University, Enugu State; Amadeus University, Amizi, Abia State; Vision University, Ikogbo, Ogun State; and Azman University, Kano State.

Also granted provisional approval are – Huda University, Gusau, Zamafara State; Franco British International University, Kaduna State; Canadian University of Nigeria, Abuja; Miva Open University, Abuja FCT; and Gerar University of Medical Science Imope Ijebu, Ogun State.

British Canadian University, Obufu Cross River State; Hensard University, Toru-Orua, Sagbama, Bayelsa State; Phoenix University, Agwada, Nasarawa State; Wigwe University, Isiokpo Rivers State; and Hillside University of Science and Technology, Okemisi, Ekiti State.

Also on the list are the University on the Niger, Umunya, Anambra state, Elrazi Medical University Yargaya University, Kano State, Venite University, Iloro-Ekiti, Ekiti State, Shanahan University Onitsha, Anambra State, The Duke Medical University, Calabar, Cross River State, Mercy Medical University, Iwo, Ogun State, Cosmopolitan University Abuja and Iconic Open University, Sokoto State.

Others also include, West Midlands Open University, Ibadan, Oyo State, Amaj University, Kwali, Abuja, Prime University, Kuje, FCT Abuja, El-Amin University, Minna, Niger State, College of Petroleum and Energy Studies, Kaduna State, Jewel University, Gombe state, Nigerian University of Technology and Management, Apapa, Lagos State, Al-Muhibbah Open University, Abuja and Al-Bayan University, Ankpa, Kogi State.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

For Advert Placements, Email: info@ln247.news

Latest Articles